Clifton a Texas Cultural Arts District

The City of Clifton was officially designated a Cultural District by the Texas Commission on the Arts and the State of Texas on Saturday, October 22, 2011, at an award ceremony attended by community and state leaders and a Norwegian foreign dignitary. The visit marked the first time a Norwegian cabinet-level minister ever visited Texas.

Gary Gibbs, PH.D., the executive director of the Texas Commission on the Arts, presented the award at the Bosque Arts Center with Mayor Fred Volcansek, Senator Brian Birdwell, Representative Rob Orr, and Norwegian Minister of Research and Higher Education Tora Aasland in attendance.

For more information about Texas Cultural Districts, visit the Texas Commission on the Arts website.

More information about Clifton’s designation and its related activities will appear on this website. For Clifton area organizations wishing to utilize the TCA State Cultural District logo, please click the logo to download a zip file of various formats.

Texas Commission on the Arts State Cultural District